Infinergy Power Ltd.

This is an interesting company over in the UK.  When I looked at them a year ago they were bragging about using the Green steam engine out of San Diego, the one with a flexible drive shaft and a Zee crank so the cylinders wobble all over the place.  I do not see that mentioned or pictured during my latest foray into the fray.  I try to keep up on all people doing all things in steam.  It is interesting.  Often I write letters offering advice and making suggestions.  I find that most of the people, in fact all of them, now that you mention it, must be very busy people because I do not get replies.  This company is trying some creative things.  They are mixing water half and half with the fuel and calling it ‘aqua-fuel’.  Most people who are burning water are those having difficulty with the basic rules of Physics, or maybe that is Chemistry, one of those sciences.  There may be something here that I do not understand.  And then I see in one of the descriptions of their work that: “Steam is kept at pressure for re-use in boiler manifold.  Heat exchange gives exceptional results.”  Here again we have a basic physics problem.  As a general rule a steam engine uses a gas (in this case steam is a vapor, but that is a fine distinction) under pressure to push a piston around.  In fact, one of the major considerations in steam engine design is how to use all of that steam pressure efficiently.  Therefore, creativity is present if the steam can be kept at the same pressure after going through the engine.  One would think that such good ideas would be illustrated and explained more thoroughly to inquiring minds such as myself.   As always, I am looking for more information to enlighten my readers.   Tom Kimmel

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Infinergy Power Ltd.

  1. Doug Malmstrom says:

    Tom, I am one of the “young” peskie newbies to steam. I know enough to know that I know very little with regards to steam and the practical use of it. In fact, what I do understand is to be very very careful with it. For all its great uses, it is a very dangerous proposition. The Green Engine which you mention is something that I am acquainted with and have purchased several of Mr. Green’s engines with the hopes of being able to take small scale steam power generation to areas which have no electrical infrastructure, or any hopes of infrastructure.

    I would enjoy a visit to your library to dive through some of your extensive materials beginning with the basics. I agree with several of your entries that steam has a lot of practical uses that need to be developed. Instead of re-inventing the steam engine, of which there are a multitude of on the web, I would like to learn about the boilers and how to make efficient use of what is readily available to burn in developing countries to create the heat source.

    Your contact link is not working. That may be intentional, but thought I would point that out.

    • tkimmel3 says:

      October 11, 2013 Dear Doug M., We are fixing the contact link and thanks for pointing it out; it was not intentional, but one of those computer things. You are welcome to stop in any time I am in town to visit, look at the steam engine collection, and look at the library. I am working on organizing the information for such a new person as yourself, however, that will be a long process. As for the Green engine, one has to be careful what one says about a commercial venture over the internet because it could be considered an interference with a commercial venture. Let us just say that I do not agree with the two statements made on their website that it is ‘modern’ and ‘efficient’. I am attempting to define both of those terms in the abstract so that a person can make their own judgments. For basic information about steam I suggest “Ropers’ Engineering Handbook” and “Audels Engineers and Mechanics Guide” 2 and 3. In these books the boilers are old fashioned and of the kind that blow up and kill people and the engines are the old “D” or slide valve, which is very inefficient, almost as inefficient as the rotary valve in the Green Engine, which manages to be slightly worse because it leaks as well as cools off the incoming steam. What these books do is give one a start on how steam works. Sometimes it is the basics, such as the importance of the water pump, that a person needs to learn. Tom Kimmel

Leave a Reply

